Yemisi Ransome-Kuti Leadership Award: Winners Announced.

The Nigeria Network of NGOs has announced the three short listed winners of the ‘’Yemisi Ransome-Kuti Leadership Award 2015’’ and launched a delegates voting campaign for the award’s favourite winner.

The short listed winners are:

Ndifreke Andrew-Essien, Mandela Washington Fellow and Executive Director FAECARE Foundation, Port Harcourt, Nigeria

Crystal Chigbu, Executive Director, The IREDE Foundation, Lagos, Nigeria.

Aremu Stephen Akinyele, Executive Director, Hope for Family Development Initiative (HFDI), Osogbo, Nigeria

The YRK Leadership Award aims to honour outstanding Nigerians working in the not-for-profit sector who exemplifies the leadership ideals of Ms. Yemisi Ransome-Kuti, a civil society activist and founding Executive Director of the Nigeria Network of NGOs (NNNGO).

Congratulating the winners, NNNGO Executive Director Oyebisi Babatunde Oluseyi emphasized that ‘’for decades we have witnessed how the civil society sector has continued to contribute as an important stakeholder to the development of Nigeria. Intervening in various sectors from health, education, poverty reduction, entrepreneurship through to agriculture, environment, gender, ICTs and lots more, the three short listed winners are striking examples of how Nigerian non-governmental organisations are helping to bring about development to the poor and vulnerable in our societies.

At the 15th Annual NNNGO Conference on 9 December, delegates will have the opportunity to hear first hand from the three winners and vote for their favourite winner through an online voting process.